Girls’ Rights

Last night I found an old journal of mine from around my first year of university. I took a module called The Modern Hispanic World in which we touched on the subject of the Chilean dictatorship and political landscape before and after Pinochet. I remember getting very emotional about the module because it reminded me of similar situations at home.

So my journal entry was about a class I had on that day which was about the treatment of women during those trying times: there were rapes, disappearances, arbitrary detentions, separation from their families and children, physical violence etc. At the same time we learned the way they organised themselves into small communities to support each financially and also emotionally. They used their pains and turned them into the strength to survive and thrive.

In the light of this, here is exactly what I wrote:

“Past the initial shock and horror, I suddenly felt grateful for being a woman- for being born a woman. I don’t know where it came from but for sure I felt the opportunity to express love, the opportunity to learn- the hard way maybe but still. This morning I switched from the position of a victim and a revolted woman to one of a woman grateful for being so regardless of what hardship may come her way.”

I was surprised to find that and last night I was a bit blown away. This is exactly what campaigning for girls’ rights is about. We are not here to cry about those poor girls out there who can’t defend themselves. We are here to empower. This is not a victim’s lament but a way to recognise the power they have and how to use it to better their conditions.

My gratitude was about being able to see the opportunity to change things, to turn around a misfortune into a positive tool for growth.

IMG_3368This is what I want my campaign for Because I am a Girl to be about.

Plan have been promoting girls’ rights as a key part of its work since 2007. Their flagship Because I am a Girl campaign (BIAAG) is shining a light on how girls’ rights are being violated across the globe. They are working with communities to stop harmful practices against girls like child marriage. They have shown how girls’ education and girls participation is crucial to achieving girls’ rights.

Find out more about Plan UK and the campaign here.

Visit my fundraising page here or click on the Sponsor me link! on top of this page.

*I received my Plan t-shirt this morning!! *

Leave a comment